haikyuu watch order: Guide to Watch Haikyuu!! in the Correct Order

Embarking on the journey of Haruichi Furudate’s animated manga series, Haikyuu!!, is an exhilarating experience. Brimming with high-stakes volleyball matches and a kaleidoscope of characters, the series is a must-watch for any sports anime enthusiast. This guide will help with the correct watch order for Haikyuu!! To ensure you get all of the spikes or serve.

The Journey of Hinata

The series revolves around Hinata Shoyo, a young boy who dreams of becoming a volleyball legend like his idol, The Little Giant. His path is fraught with challenges, but his unyielding spirit keeps him going. His rivalry with the prodigious Kageyama Tobio adds more intensity to the narrative. The series beautifully captures the resurgence of Karasuno High’s volleyball team and their collective effort to reach the nationals.

Here’s how to watch ‘Haikyuu!!’ in order

haikyuu watch order

Haikyuu!! In Release Order:

To fully immerse yourself in the world of Haikyuu!!, it’s recommended to watch the series in release order. This approach ensures you experience all the additional content that enriches the storyline and character development. Here’s the release order:

  1. Haikyuu!! season 1
  2. Haikyuu!! Lev Genzan! (The Arrival of Lev! OVA)
  3. Haikyuu!! Quest Picture Drama (OVA)
  4. Gekijō-ban Haikyuu!! Owari to Hajimari (movie)
  5. Gekijō-ban Haikyuu!! Shōsha to Haisha (movie)
  6. Haikyuu!! season 2
  7. Haikyuu!! vs Akaten (vs Failing Grades OVA)
  8. Haikyuu!! season 3
  9. Special Feature! Betting on the Spring High Volleyball (OVA)
  10. Haikyuu!! Sainō to Sense (movie)
  11. Haikyuu!! Concept no Tatakai (movie)
  12. Haikyuu!!: Riku vs Kuu (Land vs. Sky OVA)
  13. Haikyuu!!: Boru no Michi (The “Path” of the Ball OVA)
  14. Haikyuu!! To the Top Season 4
  • Part 1
  • Part 2

Haikyuu!! In Chronological Order:

You can opt for the chronological order if you prefer a more streamlined viewing experience. This order excludes the movies which primarily serve as recaps. Here’s the chronological order:

  1. Haikyuu!!
  2. Haikyuu!! Lev Genzan! (OVA)
  3. Haikyuu!! season 2
  4. Haikyuu!!: vs Akaten (OVA)
  5. Haikyuu!! season 3
  6. Haikyuu!!: Riku vs Kuu (OVA)
  7. Haikyuu!!: Boru no Michi (OVA)
  8. Haikyuu!! To the Top Season 4 part 1
  9. Haikyuu!! To the Top Season 4 part 2


Can I skip the OVAs and movies? 

OVAs and movies are not essential to the main storyline, they provide additional character development and context. It’s recommended to watch them for a complete experience.

What is the difference between release order and chronological order?

: The release order follows the sequence in which the series, OVAs, and movies were released. The chronological order follows the events as they occur in the series timeline.

Can I start watching from any season? 

: It’s recommended to start from the first season to understand the storyline and character development fully.

Leave a Comment